Baking/Cooking

Summer Baking: Lemon Blueberry Bread

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I am an avid baker. One of the cons of going to college far away and living in a dorm, is that I don’t get to bake regularly. All my nice baking ware is at home plus I just don’t have access to a kitchen often when I find the time to bake. When I’m home, baking is one hobby that I always stick with, especially during times of intense decision making.

This was one of those times. Moreover, I had been a little behind starting on my summer baking list (which is growing by the minute). Since we had an excess amount of blueberries and lemons, I decided to go with a simple Lemon Blueberry Bread recipe, which I found while perusing one of my favorite baking blogs: Glorious Treats.

Lemon Blueberry bread (homemade)

I made a few changes myself while baking, especially since I don’t always have unsalted butter. Here are my ingredient measurements:

  • 1 and 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powser
  • a little less than 1/3 cup salted butter, melted (somewhere between 1/4-1/3 cup)
  • a little less than 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 teaspoons fresh grated lemon zest
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1-1 1/2 cups fresh blueberries
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour (for tossing with the blueberries)

For the lemon glaze:

  • a little less than 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

I followed all the directions from the original recipe, except I didn’t find the need to use an electric mixer (I dislike the extra washing anyways).

This was a major hit among my friends and family. We had it as a sort of dessert after dinner, but I think it would be great for breakfast too or “high tea” as my mom calls it. I think this could be a new favorite.

 

 

Leave a Reply

